Topps Announces 53rd Annual MLB Rookie All-Star Team



The Summary:

1B Mark Trumbo, Angels (149 games, 29 HR, 87 RBI, .254)
2B Danny Espinosa, Nationals (158, 21, 66, .236)
SS Dee Gordon, Dodgers (56, 0, 11, .304)
3B Brett Lawrie, Blue Jays (43, 9, 25, .293)
OF Desmond Jennings, Rays (63, 10, 25, .259)
OF Josh Reddick, Red Sox (87, 7, 28, .280)
OF Ben Revere, Twins (117, 0, 30, .267)
C J.P. Arencibia, Blue Jays (129, 23, 78, .219)

Starting Pitcher Jeremy Hellickson, Rays (189 IP, 13-10, 2.95, 117 K, 72 BB)
Relief Craig Kimbrel, Braves (77 IP, 46 Saves, 2.10, 127 K, 32 BB)
The Topps Major League Rookie All-Star team began in 1959 with Willie McCovey being the first of 17 future Hall of Famers named to the squad (others include Johnny Bench, Rod Carew, Gary Carter, Andre Dawson, Carlton Fisk, Paul Molitor, Joe Morgan, Eddie Murray, Tony Perez, Kirby Puckett, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken, Ryne Sandberg, Tom Seaver, Ozzie Smith and Billy Williams). The Rookie All-Stars will each have a trophy on their 2012 trading card in Topps Baseball, with Series One due out in early February.

The Major League Rookie All-Star Team is one of a number of awards programs managed by Topps to reward and encourage young ballplayers. Since 1959, Topps has annually bestowed honors on minor leaguers, baseball scouts and the Baseball Organization of the Year.

No tags for this post.